Lofts, sculpties and meshes

Discuss Curvy 3D - Ask questions and share ideas.
McBryde

Lofts, sculpties and meshes

Post by McBryde »

I'm new to creation a 3D image with a computer. I really like this Curvy prog and am trying to get it to work for me.

One thing I think everyone knows except me is: what's the difference between lofts, sculpties and meshes??
I think a loft is like a paper model; a sculpty is a solid form created from laths; and mesh - well, I've learnt about that in Maya..

What I don't know [also?] is, under which conditions does one choose one of these formats over the others? And are they easily converted from one to another in Curvy [eg can I export into Maya a sculture created in Curvy]?

I appreciate your help. Thank you.
John
Simon
C.E.O.

Post by Simon »

Hi John, Curvy uses these terms slightly differently to normal 3D usage so I tend to prefix them like "Curvy Loft" and "Curvy Lathe" to distinguish them.

"Curvy Loft" - Like a bent sheet of paper defined by curved lines at either end and along the sheet. Useful for making flags, cloaks, hair.

"Curvy Lathe" - A rounded form defined by curves along its silhouette.

"Sculptie" - An Export format from Curvy that is specifically designed for use in the 3D world of Second Life. Specifically defines a sculpture in terms of position information within a texture map - effectively it unwraps a 3D model into a 2D image that can be reconstructed in 3D in Second Life.

"Mesh" - While the above forms are resolution independent (you can choose how many triangles are used to represent the models leaving the defining curves/image alone) a Mesh has a fixed number of triangles/quads that represent the shape.
The downside is you lose the simple editable curves to control the shape, but on the plus side you can use the full range of sculpting/deforming tools to pull and push and tweak the mesh to change the shape and add detail.